Become a supporter to remove this ad
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 44

Thread: any difference between cat5e and cat6 connectors

  1. #1
    Member Mr D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    House
    Motorbike
    Honda CBR RR
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    1,020
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    any difference between cat5e and cat6 connectors

    Hi,

    is there any difference between an RJ45 jack for cat5E and cat6 cables or they exactly the same?

    if difference, what is it??

    The builder is fitting cat6 cable to my house but he can't get CAT6 HPM connectors.
    He askinformed that he will use Rg 45.
    Is there any difference between cat5e and cat6 connectors?
    You know what you get for being a hero? Nothing. You get shot at. A little pat on the back, blah blah blah, attaboy. You get divorced. Your wife can't remember your last name. Kids don't wanna talk to you. Get to eat a lot of meals by yourself. Trust me kid, nobody wants to be that guy

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Yokine
    Liked
    973 times
    Posts
    7,142
    Mentioned
    98 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    I don't think so Mr D.
    No difference in the connectors (8P8C), but I think the colour order of the cable itself is different.
    Won't make much difference functionally though.

  3. #3
    Member Wedge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Motorbike
    Daytona 675 and a tractor.
    Liked
    328 times
    Posts
    4,347
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    I have cat 6 cabling in the house (cost difference was a few bucks), and wired up my own 5e connectors in the wall. Works a treat, and when I did my own research a few years ago they said it doesn't matter. Cat 6 only makes a slight difference over a really long cable or something.

  4. #4
    Member TheBoof's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Willetton
    Motorbike
    Daytona 675, 2011 MAD CBR1000RR
    Liked
    11 times
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Yes, there is a difference. Cat6 uses thicker copper and insulation which helps in reducing near end cross talk - the CAT6 jacks are made to take this into account (the terminations are staggered on a Cat6 jack, but in a straight line on Cat5E).

    If you use Cat6 cabling, but only Cat5E connectors on each end, the network is only going to be rated to Cat5E. Will it work? Yes. Will it make any real world difference in a home network? I highly doubt it.

  5. #5
    Member Sonik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    The Pub
    Motorbike
    Big tard and little tard
    Liked
    693 times
    Posts
    2,094
    Mentioned
    71 Post(s)
    Tagged
    10 Thread(s)

    It wont pass a cat6 certification but for home use cat6 is a bit like having a 2ft dick - It's great to brag about but you will never get to use all of it.

  6. #6
    Member Mr D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    House
    Motorbike
    Honda CBR RR
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    1,020
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This a quote for experts

    "Although Category 6 and Category 5e connectors may look alike, Category 6 connectors have much better transmission performance. For example, at 100 MHz, NEXT of a Category 5e connector is 43 decibels (d, while NEXT of a Category 6 connector is 54 dB. This means that a Category 6 connector couples about 1/12 of the power that a Category 5e connector couples from one pair to another pair. Conversely, one can say that a Category 6 connector is 12 times less "noisy" compared to a Category 5e connector. "

    I am not sure if is going to make any difference?
    You know what you get for being a hero? Nothing. You get shot at. A little pat on the back, blah blah blah, attaboy. You get divorced. Your wife can't remember your last name. Kids don't wanna talk to you. Get to eat a lot of meals by yourself. Trust me kid, nobody wants to be that guy

  7. #7
    Member xphread's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Liked
    212 times
    Posts
    3,163
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am certain if you need to ask this question that you wont notice the difference.
    Are you even using gigabit switches in your house?

    Its something that can be upgraded in the future if it ever becomes an issue for very little cost, (as opposed to rewiring the house) which is why I am doing the same thing as you...
    Spending the extra 6c per metre on running Cat6 cable for the data connections is probably worth it(as opposed to Cat5e for the light switch points! shhh), but currently I have Cat5e connectors laying around that will be used instead of forking out for Cat6 ones.

    To be honest.... future upgrades are likely to be straight to fibre-optic or wireless, so I wouldn't worry about it.

  8. #8
    Member TheBoof's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Willetton
    Motorbike
    Daytona 675, 2011 MAD CBR1000RR
    Liked
    11 times
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Unless you intend on running 10GBASE-T on your home network, it's not going to make a bee's dick of difference.

  9. #9
    Member Sonik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    The Pub
    Motorbike
    Big tard and little tard
    Liked
    693 times
    Posts
    2,094
    Mentioned
    71 Post(s)
    Tagged
    10 Thread(s)

    Quote Originally Posted by xphread View Post
    ...as opposed to Cat5e for the light switch points! shhh...
    Oh gawd, I hope you are running CBUS lighting in your place.

  10. #10
    Member Visitor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    SOR
    Motorbike
    2010 R6
    Liked
    83 times
    Posts
    542
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Only physical difference I can find is the way the cables are laid out in the connector part, probably due to the thicker casing around each wire. If you look closely (on the left) you can see the contact patch is still in the same spot for each cable though.


    Cat6 vs Cat5

  11. #11
    Member Sonik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    The Pub
    Motorbike
    Big tard and little tard
    Liked
    693 times
    Posts
    2,094
    Mentioned
    71 Post(s)
    Tagged
    10 Thread(s)

    Yeh, physically they look very similar. However, They are different.

  12. #12
    Member Fat Pat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Perthish
    Liked
    1 times
    Posts
    3,508
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Bugger, when I smart-wired my house all we had was Cat-5, so I ran 800 metres of the stuff to all point on the compass. It was 12 years ago though, so that's my excuse.

    It seems to run my domestic situation OK, but that's progress I guess.

    Smart me, however, ensured that all wall boxed have conduit, so running new cable is a doddle!


  13. #13
    Member Squawk_Ident's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Safety Bay
    Motorbike
    K6 Gsxr1000
    Liked
    7 times
    Posts
    375
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just ordered cat 6 cabling and connectors from eBay. While this post is up anyone out there know to to make cat 6 cables and how to mount wall sockets, run cables in walls ?

    Will throw some cash or booze your way for the troubles. All gear ordered just need the expertise.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    The propeller is just a big fan in the front of the plane to keep the pilot cool. Want proof? Make it stop; then watch the pilot break out into a sweat

  14. #14
    Member shmoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Perth WA / Christchurch NZ
    Liked
    796 times
    Posts
    11,269
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    10 Thread(s)

    Quote Originally Posted by Sonik View Post
    It wont pass a cat6 certification but for home use cat6 is a bit like having a 2ft dick - It's great to brag about but you will never get to use all of it.
    yeah but if you had the choice, you'd obviously choose to have a 2ft dick, wouldn't you?

  15. #15
    Member Wedge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Motorbike
    Daytona 675 and a tractor.
    Liked
    328 times
    Posts
    4,347
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Quote Originally Posted by Squawk_Ident View Post
    I just ordered cat 6 cabling and connectors from eBay. While this post is up anyone out there know to to make cat 6 cables and how to mount wall sockets, run cables in walls ?

    Will throw some cash or booze your way for the troubles. All gear ordered just need the expertise.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I have a couple of tools that could come in handy, namely the crimper tool and a tool for the connectors. If you want to borrow them let me know, from memory they only cost about $30 to buy from Jaycar if you want your own.

  16. #16
    Member Sonik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    The Pub
    Motorbike
    Big tard and little tard
    Liked
    693 times
    Posts
    2,094
    Mentioned
    71 Post(s)
    Tagged
    10 Thread(s)

    Quote Originally Posted by Squawk_Ident View Post
    I just ordered cat 6 cabling and connectors from eBay. While this post is up anyone out there know to to make cat 6 cables and how to mount wall sockets, run cables in walls ?
    Ordered cable from internets? like a box of Cat6 or patch leads? Electrical wholesalers sell all the bits you need and there is no real trick to installing the wiring other than to get it to pass at Cat6 you can't kink it, twist it, stretch it, strain it, crush it or use cable ties to tie it up (use velcro straps instead). Also, keep it at least 300 mm away from power cables and when you tie it up don't do it too tight. Terminations need to maintain the pair twist as close to the back of the socket as possible... too easy

    Quote Originally Posted by shmoo View Post
    yeah but if you had the choice, you'd obviously choose to have a 2ft dick, wouldn't you?
    Who says I don't? If it was purely for trying to impress people with the amazing size of it or I wanted to make porn then yeah, sure. Otherwise what I have does the job just fine.

  17. #17
    Member xphread's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Liked
    212 times
    Posts
    3,163
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Sonik View Post
    Oh gawd, I hope you are running CBUS lighting in your place.
    not exactly. ...but thats another story entirely.

  18. #18
    Administrator Brougham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    PSB Sweatshop
    Liked
    681 times
    Posts
    12,387
    Mentioned
    191 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)

    Don't you need a cabling license to do network/data cabling in walls and ceilings?

  19. #19
    Member j-mac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Kenwick
    Motorbike
    WR250x
    Liked
    36 times
    Posts
    301
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you're still hunting for connections/cable and wall plates, come round to Electrocraft at 2/28 belmont ave and I'll sort you out
    That bitch took my dollar...

  20. #20
    Member xphread's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Liked
    212 times
    Posts
    3,163
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Possibly... legally.

    Its crazy that I can wire up systems that gets installed on the mines etc thats ensuring the safety of millions of dollars worth of equipment... yet I cant legally run data cables in my own house.

    Although I do have a licensed sparky overseeing the whole thing and signing everything off. I'm just sub-ing for myself at a really good price!

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •