PDA

View Full Version : Cairns?

Desmo
18-11-2012, 04:42 PM
Has anyone lived in Cairns? From there, etc etc?
Just looking at the price of housing and we could pay off a very nice house there in a very short space of time plus it wouldn't be an issue for me getting work there, seeing as the GBR is right on it's doorstep.
Just thinking out loud and weighing up options at the moment.
Yes, I know it's tropical.

Sventek
18-11-2012, 04:49 PM
Someone I studied with is living there at the moment, and the parents of my ex business partner live there. They all say that it's just fantastic.

Desmo
18-11-2012, 04:54 PM
They all say that it's just fantastic.

This is the general feeling I get from my Googling.
And check this out for $340K!
21 Templeton Street Gordonvale Qld 4865 - House for Sale #112167167 - realestate.com.au (http://www.realestate.com.au/property-house-qld-gordonvale-112167167)

Sventek
18-11-2012, 04:56 PM
Noice. Very noice indeed.

Flamedance
18-11-2012, 05:09 PM
I have relatives up there. They love it. I find its a bit of a dead end town - They tried to turn it into something a decade ago but it flopped. Its a nice place and there are some awesome twisties in the hinterland and as you mentioned its got a lot of charter fishing and diving happening there. Tully river is one of the best white water courses I've paddled as well.
Downside - Fairly high crime rate. There are a lot of dole bludging potheads up there. Since the Japanese pulled out of the port douglas resorts there has been a big drop in the whole area for development. Everything focussed back down towards Townsville and Mackay for the mining stuff.
Overall for your line of work its definately worth considering, Sal shouldn't have an issue getting work there either. Take a holiday and check the place out to see what you think.

Professor Redfern
18-11-2012, 05:14 PM
Are you implying that wa is overpriced?