PDA

View Full Version : Unbelievably slow net...help?



bobinatcat
19-12-2012, 01:13 PM
Any particular reason my lappy would have massive slowdown issues for net connections, both wired and wireless.
It isn't the router as no other pc in the how is suffering the issue?

I'm lost.

scotch
19-12-2012, 01:36 PM
Log off.

Close laptop lid.

Grab helmet.

Grab bike keys.

Go ride for a few hours.

Come back.

Problem should be fixed.*







*results may vary.

bobinatcat
19-12-2012, 02:04 PM
Haha, I've tried that a few days running...to no avail.

Fusion
19-12-2012, 02:05 PM
add a programe called CC cleaner to your computer and it clears all the crap out and makes it run better :)

Sookie
19-12-2012, 02:06 PM
Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test (http://www.speedtest.net) do a test and post your upload/download/ping here

Stoneville
19-12-2012, 02:13 PM
I've been just about ready to hit mine in the screen the last couple of weeks, thought it was just living in the boonies, have done the cache cookies trick, but didn't work this time, sucks cos downloading has just about come to a standstill :(

bobinatcat
19-12-2012, 02:22 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2381654037.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Normally it's around 4.6

Aufitt
19-12-2012, 02:26 PM
Too much Porn will make your poota blind.

Desmo
19-12-2012, 03:21 PM
add a programe called CC cleaner to your computer and it clears all the crap out and makes it run better :)

Please don't.

Mo-Fo
19-12-2012, 04:26 PM
If it started suddenly you've probably got a nasty from all that scat pron you've been d/l. Plus is it just internet speed? or overall performance?

Anyway if it was me it'd be time to format, if you're running 7 it doesn't take long.

thro
19-12-2012, 04:42 PM
Could be many things.

Do you get the same speedtest result on other machines in the house?

Do you live with a nerd who you may have stolen too much bandwidth from, who has then shaped you?

bobinatcat
19-12-2012, 05:19 PM
If it started suddenly you've probably got a nasty from all that scat pron you've been d/l. Plus is it just internet speed? or overall performance?

Anyway if it was me it'd be time to format, if you're running 7 it doesn't take long.

Nah just net speed. Page loading is the issue.


Too much Porn will make your poota blind.

Hahah touche.

I have two, one is the serious work and browsing pc.... aka "clean one"
The other is the one that is likely to get ridden with nasties... aka "porn-puter"

Weirdly enough, it is the clean one having issues.

Could be many things.

Do you get the same speedtest result on other machines in the house?

Do you live with a nerd who you may have stolen too much bandwidth from, who has then shaped you?

I'll speedtest another later but it should come back around 4.6 like I said.

Hmmmm maybe format. Had for about 1.5 years probably.
PLus that nerd is me; That being said I don't use a huge amount of d/l limit.

crowtribe
19-12-2012, 05:19 PM
Right, internet speed != hard drive space, whoever suggested CCleaner, you fucking n00b.

Also don't use SpeedTest, it's inaccurate and won't be accepted as a speed test by your ISP. Source: I worked in Faults at iiNet.

bobinatcat : Depending on your ISP, I'd recommend calling their support line first. While I did start typing in exactly what you need to do, it's easier for your ISP support who can check your line stats (assuming you're on their ADSL2+ devices) for any issues. Further, try checking your ISP's network status page, they contain information regarding network issues that may affect you - there is also often a Whirlpool thread (http://whirlpool.net.au/) in your ISP's subforum from other affected users.

Alternatively, I can try and help you over the phone if you're interested, but the above options should be first on your list!

thro
19-12-2012, 05:28 PM
Right, internet speed != hard drive space, whoever suggested CCleaner, you fucking n00b.

Also don't use SpeedTest, it's inaccurate and won't be accepted as a speed test by your ISP. Source: I worked in Faults at iiNet.


Of course it's not accurate, but it is convenient, and will certainly give you an indication as to whether things are "normal" or running at 10% of normal speed :D

crowtribe
19-12-2012, 05:32 PM
Not if Speedtest's site is boned or experiencing difficulties, no. If, however, you were to check your speed using multiple concurrent downloads from your provider's FTP space (in the case of iiNet), or by pinging one of their various servers, you'd get a better indication.

thro
19-12-2012, 06:25 PM
Not if Speedtest's site is boned or experiencing difficulties, no. If, however, you were to check your speed using multiple concurrent downloads from your provider's FTP space (in the case of iiNet), or by pinging one of their various servers, you'd get a better indication.

Chances of speedtest being boned at the same time as your own connection = not very likely.

Look, i'm not disagreeing that it won't be too accurate. But in my experience, every time I've used it i've gotten similar results to what my sync speed should indicate. It's also the tool suggested by telstra techs who iinet/internode actually send out to demonstrate to the customer that line faults have been resolved (I live in a new estate and have had 2 faults in the past couple of months requiring tech visits).


Conversely, if your ISP backbone is "boned" (which if you're using something like DODO is entirely possible) then downloading stuff off their local FTP site won't give you a very good indication as to the source of the problem, either.

It doesn't matter a shit how fast the local FTP server is, if you can't get any decent speed to anywhere else on the internet.


I'm not saying "speedtest reports blah = whinge to ISP pointing at speediest.net". However it is a simple tool to get an idea of line stats usable by anyone within a couple of minutes before investigating further.



edit:
I used to work for an ISP too, and am currently paid as an enterprise network guy...

Nudge
19-12-2012, 11:26 PM
lot of it about apparently, down to 1500 kb at the moment, having to live with lag rage from someone else in the house..not much fun. vision stream have been out and and will be back again tomorrow, their commetn was about there being a lot of this type of work going on at the mo.

bobinatcat
19-12-2012, 11:35 PM
Hmm well it is Tpg, and in the Leeming area; should be adsl2+. I'll give them a call I the morning. But the fact the the other pc's are running at normal pace appears odd to me.

Para045
19-12-2012, 11:44 PM
Look, i'm not disagreeing that it won't be too accurate. But in my experience, every time I've used it i've gotten similar results to what my sync speed should indicate...

Yeah I used the Speedtest link a while back when having issues with the speed of my connection and the 1st thing the Telstra guy on the service line said was that it wasn't indicitave of the ctual line speed BUT it was at least a baseline to start from in as far as we were supposedly on ADSL2+ (up to 20mbs) yet ST.net was showing only ~6mbs which wasn't even at the top of ADSL territory and after getting bounced around they worked out that we hadn't been connected to ADSL2+ at the exchange despite the fact we had upgraded our plan :( Still only get ~14mbs but that is still a huge jump over 6mbs :rolleyes:

crowtribe
20-12-2012, 09:01 AM
ADSL2+ is technically up to 24mb/s sync, but you'd pretty much have to live within the exchange (speed degrades over line distance). VS techs sync at 24 off the port. I get 18mb/s where I am, 1.5km from the exchange.

Some people don't realise that sync doesn't equal your maximum download speed. Sync is actually measured in BITS, not BYTES, so if you're syncing at 24mb(its)/s, your maximum download speed should be 1/10 of this, 2.4mB/s. It can be difficult trying to explain this to customers, especially when they all claim to be technicians of some description.

bobinatcat : don't bother calling TPG if all the other computers are running at normal speed, they probably won't help much. They only support up to the first computer's connection. If there's someone who's technical in the house, they *may* have set it so that your particular PC always connects on the same IP address on the modem and then set a speed limit on that address. Highly unlikely however.

Alternatively, open up cmd prompt and type in netstat and press enter - you'll get a list of everything with an incoming and outgoing connection. If you type in netstat -b, it will show you the executable (program) that's causing that connection. Check to make sure they all match up with what you think should be open, or start closing them and see if your speeds improve.

More netstat commands can be found here Netstat @ Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Netstat) if you think they may be useful.

EDIT: Not sure if applicable to you, but assuming you're running Windows 7, just type CMD in the search field in the Start Menu without pressing enter, the application icon should appear - right click on it and run as administrator. netstat -b may not work without elevated access.

More info on tracking connections over time rather than a single snapshot can be found here if you think it's malware or something Netstat commands (http://commandwindows.com/netstat.htm).

Sunshine & F'n Rainbows
20-12-2012, 09:08 AM
add a programe called CC cleaner to your computer and it clears all the crap out and makes it run better :)

For the love of all that is holy, don't fucking do this.

bobinatcat
20-12-2012, 10:15 AM
ADSL2+ is technically up to 24mb/s sync, but you'd pretty much have to live within the exchange (speed degrades over line distance). VS techs sync at 24 off the port. I get 18mb/s where I am, 1.5km from the exchange.

Some people don't realise that sync doesn't equal your maximum download speed. Sync is actually measured in BITS, not BYTES, so if you're syncing at 24mb(its)/s, your maximum download speed should be 1/10 of this, 2.4mB/s. It can be difficult trying to explain this to customers, especially when they all claim to be technicians of some description.

bobinatcat : don't bother calling TPG if all the other computers are running at normal speed, they probably won't help much. They only support up to the first computer's connection. If there's someone who's technical in the house, they *may* have set it so that your particular PC always connects on the same IP address on the modem and then set a speed limit on that address. Highly unlikely however.

Alternatively, open up cmd prompt and type in netstat and press enter - you'll get a list of everything with an incoming and outgoing connection. If you type in netstat -b, it will show you the executable (program) that's causing that connection. Check to make sure they all match up with what you think should be open, or start closing them and see if your speeds improve.

More netstat commands can be found here Netstat @ Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Netstat) if you think they may be useful.

EDIT: Not sure if applicable to you, but assuming you're running Windows 7, just type CMD in the search field in the Start Menu without pressing enter, the application icon should appear - right click on it and run as administrator. netstat -b may not work without elevated access.

More info on tracking connections over time rather than a single snapshot can be found here if you think it's malware or something Netstat commands (http://commandwindows.com/netstat.htm).

Awesome, I'll give it a try later when I get home. Thanks for that, probably more what I was after.

Fusion
20-12-2012, 08:18 PM
For the love of all that is holy, don't fucking do this.

why not??? my computer mate that works for a big mining company in the IT section put it on my laptop for me and it works great!

agrid
20-12-2012, 08:44 PM
cccleaner is ok.

Sunshine & F'n Rainbows
20-12-2012, 08:46 PM
why not??? my computer mate that works for a big mining company in the IT section put it on my laptop for me and it works great!

That's about the quality of advice I'd expect from a "big mining company" IT department I guess.

CC cleaner kicked my dog.

Skut
20-12-2012, 08:55 PM
Curious as to the CCcleaner hate. Cnet may not be the source of all wisdom, but they are unlikely to award malware any plusses for the sake of sheer online credibility?

Desmo
20-12-2012, 09:19 PM
Perhaps after years of seeing registry optimisers and Windows clean up programs that do nothing but royally farkle things people are wary of such snake oil.