Liked
    0 times
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

The Insurance Thread

Firstly, I'm not selling anything, just wanting to help out where I can. I don’t like seeing people getting shafted if there is anything I can do to assist. Something that I notice is common place is that many people do not understand their own Insurance, or want some advice on what to do, so I thought it may best to start an Insurance thread itself, where I am happy to offer advice, suggestions or solutions to any problems or issues you may have.

(Unless you are a formal client of mine, I do not/will not earn anything from this advice, and have no allegiances to any specific insurer. This is general advice, but I am happy offer some more detailed suggestions if you want to ask anything (I wont charge for it either).)

A quick bit on my background – I am an Insurance Broker having been in the industry for some 10 years now. My primary focus is offshore marine and energy, but I have been involved in both underwriting, claims and broking of personal products (home, contents, motor etc) in the past, as well as some significantly bigger risks (commercial properties, drilling rigs, boat builders etc) and workers comp, personal accident etc.

First things first, some quick background.

Insurers are either:
    - The Underwriter – The company who carries the risk.

- An Agent – either a trading name of an underwriter, or someone who has arranged an agreement to utilise a specific portion of the Underwriters capacity. This does not mean that they are part of the same company, it simply means that in a claim, the money will come from the Underwriter, not the agent.

Insurers also operate different treaties/portfolios (think of it like bank accounts) for different policy types, meaning that if they get hit hard with claims on say Homes, this doesn’t affect those customers that only insure their cars/bikes etc.