User Tag List

Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Dual sport recommendation for dirt newb?

Motorbike
    Z300
    Liked
    0 times
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Dual sport recommendation for dirt newb?

So I'm wanting to get into the dirt. I'll also use the bike for occasional commute and will be needing to ride to the off road trails, so keen on a dual sport.

I'm short of leg, although use to gravel roads I'm new to dirt riding, and as I'll be at stop lights often I'm in need of low(er) seat bikes. Atm thinking of xt250 or crf250 - any others I should be considering? Wr250 looks great but tall dammit. Maybe even re himalayan 410? I'd like to fit in some camping so some weight carrying capacity and rack mounting usedul to

Motorbike
    Z300
    Liked
    0 times
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Also read reviews of klx250s and in street bikes found kawa gear box more enjoyable than the hondas. Klx doesn't seem to have the same fan base as others tho?

Motorbike
    Cbr 500r, crf 250r, Daytona 675
    Liked
    0 times
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you fit on a drz 400? If so, it would be hard to beat for your requirements. Bulletproof reliability, a true all rounder

Motorbike
    MT09
    Liked
    1569 times
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    34 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you're a dirt noob, LIGHT WEIGHT, LIGHT WEIGHT, LIGHT WEIGHT! I made the mistake of getting a DR650 to learn dirt on, which was way too heavy, especially in sand.

A DRZ400 is about as heavy as I'd go, though by the sounds of it you'd struggle to get a leg over it.

A couple owns Overlander Adventure Equipment in Midvale, and his missus is really short, they had her WR250 lowered, and she rode it (solo I believe) offroad across Australia a few years back.

Motorbike
    94 cbr1000f
    Liked
    0 times
    Post Thanks / Like