User Tag List

Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 38 of 38

Thread: yamaha key light on dash

  1. #21
    Member dwillia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Nollamara
    Motorbike
    2018 MT10 2012 FZ8n
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    977
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I believe you need to put it into diagnostic mode - the manual should reveal all

  2. #22
    Member SP33D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Kardinya
    Motorbike
    ZXR250C
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    276
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I knew something malicious was going on here...I canít enter diagnostic mode. Nothing happens. Hold the select and reset buttons and flick ign to on and continue to hold for 10sec...nothing. Just clock starts to flash as if to adjust the time.

    Possible ecu has lost its earth or a partial earth loss? Or ecu is stuffed? Cluster buttons work because I can adjust the time fine
    Quote Originally Posted by Ambian View Post
    When I was a wee boy I use to whack off to escort adds in the yellow pages, o'course... those yellow women on the pages forever gave me a warped view of the Simpsons...

  3. #23
    Member marras's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    NOR
    Liked
    379 times
    Posts
    2,229
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Where did you buy the bike?
    Has the bike got any modifications done to it?

  4. #24
    Member SP33D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Kardinya
    Motorbike
    ZXR250C
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    276
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    no mods, it was crashed, lightly at the front, forks out of alignment at front and front headlight smashed with abit of front fairing cracks. couple months ago, hasnt worked since. battery has stayed charged the whole time. i only removed the headlight, lamps, front indicators etc so cant see that stopping the bike starting
    Quote Originally Posted by Ambian View Post
    When I was a wee boy I use to whack off to escort adds in the yellow pages, o'course... those yellow women on the pages forever gave me a warped view of the Simpsons...

  5. #25
    Member Water pig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Yanchep
    Motorbike
    Cbr 500r, crf 250r, Daytona 675
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    640
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It'll be your immobiliser, look around your key barrel for cracks in the plastic surround and follow the wires from that unit to its plug make sure you have continuity in all wires

  6. #26
    Member SP33D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Kardinya
    Motorbike
    ZXR250C
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    276
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Water pig View Post
    It'll be your immobiliser, look around your key barrel for cracks in the plastic surround and follow the wires from that unit to its plug make sure you have continuity in all wires
    Do you mean the switching mechanism under the ignition or the immobiliser unit itself?
    Quote Originally Posted by Ambian View Post
    When I was a wee boy I use to whack off to escort adds in the yellow pages, o'course... those yellow women on the pages forever gave me a warped view of the Simpsons...

  7. #27
    Member Water pig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Yanchep
    Motorbike
    Cbr 500r, crf 250r, Daytona 675
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    640
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The key surround is the immobiliser pick-up if you look under the key barrel there's 2 sets of wires coming out one from the actual key barrel the other comes from a lump on the side, that's the immobiliser circuit which can get easily damaged in a front end crash, even a little one, make sure all the wires are good and not been pinched or broken

  8. #28
    Member SP33D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Kardinya
    Motorbike
    ZXR250C
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    276
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Water pig View Post
    The key surround is the immobiliser pick-up if you look under the key barrel there's 2 sets of wires coming out one from the actual key barrel the other comes from a lump on the side, that's the immobiliser circuit which can get easily damaged in a front end crash, even a little one, make sure all the wires are good and not been pinched or broken

    spot on! i took the black cable wrapping off, cut it back with a stanley knife and low and behold, red/green cable has been broken. mended that together and now looks like things are looking up. but i have a 51 fault code which looking through the codes is faulty ecu.....so back at square 1.
    Quote Originally Posted by Ambian View Post
    When I was a wee boy I use to whack off to escort adds in the yellow pages, o'course... those yellow women on the pages forever gave me a warped view of the Simpsons...

  9. #29
    Member GsxInShed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Next to the big hole in the economy
    Motorbike
    (TY-250- RD350LC- Gsx 750 esd) Current -Gsx 250 SSM GSX 1100 EFE
    Liked
    304 times
    Posts
    8,551
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Check the wiring again..is there can bus?

    You can't solder the join if it is... yet a crimp will work. DAM?

    Oh an' check fuses again for continunity.. good luck.
    " Imagination is the seed of life..."

  10. #30
    Member Water pig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Yanchep
    Motorbike
    Cbr 500r, crf 250r, Daytona 675
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    640
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yamaha doesn't run can bus

  11. #31
    Member SP33D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Kardinya
    Motorbike
    ZXR250C
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    276
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    anyone know if the immobiliser has its own fuse? the only manuals i can find are non-immobiliser bikes
    Quote Originally Posted by Ambian View Post
    When I was a wee boy I use to whack off to escort adds in the yellow pages, o'course... those yellow women on the pages forever gave me a warped view of the Simpsons...

  12. #32
    Member BusaSteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    WA NOR
    Motorbike
    MT09
    Liked
    317 times
    Posts
    5,369
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just looking at the MT09 fuse list and it would appear not....for my bike with immobiliser....cant see them doing one for any other. Fuses listed are...Main 50 amp, ign...15amp, signal...which I assume is indicators? 7.5 amp, FI 10 amp, and (maybe the culprit) electric throttle valve 7.5 amp. No mention of any others relating to ignition. What about the tip over switch....if fitted esp since its been dropped?
    Smoke me a kipper...I'll be home in time for breakfast

  13. #33
    Member GsxInShed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Next to the big hole in the economy
    Motorbike
    (TY-250- RD350LC- Gsx 750 esd) Current -Gsx 250 SSM GSX 1100 EFE
    Liked
    304 times
    Posts
    8,551
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    I'd imagine there is a fusible link from + batt to Imob/Ecu

    If not a dedicated fuse..that would make it easy to steal..

    Try a hard reboot if ya haven't already leave the battery leads off for 5 mins.. ? ecu should have back up batt Pwr built in to retain codes etc. ?

    Any one wanna pitch in on this??
    " Imagination is the seed of life..."

  14. #34
    Member Water pig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Yanchep
    Motorbike
    Cbr 500r, crf 250r, Daytona 675
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    640
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not sure on your bike but the R1 runs straight off the main fuse

  15. #35
    Member Water pig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Yanchep
    Motorbike
    Cbr 500r, crf 250r, Daytona 675
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    640
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Definitely go for the battery off for 5 mins, the ecu has probably decided that you were trying to start the bike without the correct keys and needs a reset

  16. #36
    Member SP33D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Kardinya
    Motorbike
    ZXR250C
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    276
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I will remove the battery for a couple hours and get back to it later tonight. I now do believe the immobiliser is to be blamed, just a hunch. I have a feeling itís the transponder receiver on top of the ignition as thatís where I found the broken cable. But now that itís back together....hopefully the ecu will reset and fire up with the correct keys. Hopefully itís not the copper ring inside the immobiliser itself that picks up the key transponder that has broken or such
    Quote Originally Posted by Ambian View Post
    When I was a wee boy I use to whack off to escort adds in the yellow pages, o'course... those yellow women on the pages forever gave me a warped view of the Simpsons...
    Likes Water pig, FJ Steve liked this post

  17. #37
    Member BusaSteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    WA NOR
    Motorbike
    MT09
    Liked
    317 times
    Posts
    5,369
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The ecu retains all important data without battery back up...dont know how..its called KAM...keep alive memory. An ecu reset may work....fingers crossed.
    Smoke me a kipper...I'll be home in time for breakfast

  18. #38
    Member dwillia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Nollamara
    Motorbike
    2018 MT10 2012 FZ8n
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    977
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i tried battery + off for a day when I couldn't start mine, I left it off for a week and started first press

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •